Urgent Notice –UPDATED– Under the Executive Order signed January 27, 2017

UPDATED:  Under the Executive Order on Protecting the Nation from Terrorist Attacks by Foreign Nationals signed on January 27, 2017, visa issuance to nationals of the countries of Iraq, Iran, Libya, Somalia, Sudan, Syria and Yemen has been suspended effective immediately until further notification. We will announce any other changes affecting travelers to the United States as soon as that information is available.

This Executive Order does not restrict the travel of dual nationals, so long as they hold the passport of an unrestricted country and possess a valid U.S. visa.  They may resume travel to the United States.

Our Embassies and Consulates around the world will process visa applications and issue nonimmigrant and immigrant visas to otherwise eligible visa applicants who apply with a passport from an unrestricted country, even if they hold dual nationality from one of the seven restricted countries.

As before the Executive Order, dual nationals of Iraq, Iran, Syria, and Sudan are not eligible for the Visa Waiver Program and must have a visa for travel.  Such individuals may apply for a visa as needed at a U.S. Embassy or Consulate.  Dual nationals of Yemen, Libya, and Somalia and a Visa Waiver Program country may continue to travel under the VWP unless they have travelled to any of the seven countries on or after March 2011, in which case they must first apply for a U.S. visa.